marrowandfluff:

overdosebabyblue:

faketrain:

brainguts:kimclit:vegetablesforbreakfast:vulpes-vulpes:ratsandcandy666

YOU NEED TO KNOW THIS.

I’m always surprised when people don’t know this. Most cheese contains rennet. That’s cow stomach. (Just go vegan already, yo.)

Most vegetarians I know seem to ignore this.

Yeah a lot of people don’t know that and even more surprisingly I’ve met a lot of people who don’t know that cows need to be pregnant/nursing a baby calf to produce milk.

fyi, in australia most locally (esp. organic/biodynamic produced, esp. small producers) made cheeses will be marked as SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIANS or at least whether the cheese contains vegetable or animal rennet. but vegetarians need to look for this  when sourcing and purchasing suitable dairy products. if they care.

It’s amazing the everyday products that have rennet in them! Like, ordinary bags of shredded cheese and yoghurt. Working in a deli, I get to have a close up look at the sorts of cheeses that have animal rennet: it’s always the more expensive ones. You’d think that to cut costs they’d use vegetable rennet? Most of the vege friendly ones are marked, which is great.

yeah coles even stock the norco nimbin vego cheese

most hard cheese are difficult to find with vegetarian rennet because the manufactured enzyme doesn’t work very well, so you can’t really get beyond a cheddar which is vegetarian friendly.

WHAT OMG NO THIS IS A WORLD GONE MAD

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s